CONFERENCE 2012
Our Health: Our Common Wealth


Conference Program March 2012
Book of Abstracts March 2012
Inaugural CNF Conference report

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_6966.jpg

Leadership in Nursing

Peter Carter

http://www.rcn.org.uk
gensec.dept@rcn.org.uk

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7017.jpg

Daring, caring and sharing! Keeping our Nightingale legacy alive and thriving

Deva Marie Beck
http://www.nightingaledeclaration.net/

devamarie@NIGHWorld.net

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\Documents\CNF\Biennial\2012\Photos Day 1\Danny 4.jpg

Danny Sriskandarajah

The Commonwealth: terminally ill or on the mend

http://www.thercs.org/

danny@thercs.org

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_6986.jpg

Improving the quality of life of pregnant women usig the IPTp-SP: experiences from the Dangme West District Ghana

Adelaide Ofei

adelaideofei@yahoo.com

The prevalence of low back pain among nurses at the surgical department of Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital, Accra, Ghana
Adelaide Ofei 2

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7129.jpg

Bringing oncology clinical trials awareness to an international nursing audience via a web-based course

Annie Young

annie.young@warwick.ac.uk

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7029.jpg

the use of information technology in five hospitals in Cameroon

Flora Neh
florann84@yahoo.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_6988.jpg

Analysing nursing policy developments in post-apartheid South Africa

Loveday Penn-Kekana
lovedaypk@yahoo.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7138.jpg

Mental health crisis in Africa: recognising the issues and suggesting ways forward

Malachy Ujam
m.n.ujam@surrey.ac.uk

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_6978.jpg 

Can patient care be improved by using electronic nurse rostering?

Rachel Finn

rachel.finn@nuh.nhs.uk


Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7179.jpg

We need that money and we need it immediately: moonlighting decisions of nurses in South Africa

Laetitia Rispel
laetitia.rispel@wits.ac.za

Today was a hectic day: exploring the average working day of nursing unit managers in South Africa

Laetitia Rispel 2

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7100.jpg

Adherence to treatment after reinforcement by the Rheumatology Nurse Specialist

Doris Aquilina
doris.aquilina@gov.mt

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7092.jpg

Using ICT for workforce planning: a case of mental health nurses in Kenya

Elizabeth Oywer
eoywer@nckenya.org

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7094.jpg

Redesigning the nursing clinical handover process: bedside intershift handover

Tzuu Ling Tan

Bedside handover process

widal24@gmail.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7034.jpg

Meeting the health MDGs: a Caribbean perspective

Marion Howard

mefolh@yahoo.com

A safe profession, a safe nurse, a safe patient

Marion Howard 2

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7037.jpg 

Improving the health of people with intellectual disabilities

Ruth Northway

rnorthwa@glam.ac.uk

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7137.jpg   

Undergoing tonsillectomy: experiences of parents and children in Malta

Tonio Pace
tonio.n.pace@gov.mt

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7003.jpg

Fast tracking patients with multi-drug resistant TB to HAART initiation using quality improvement technology
Zamasomi Luvuno
luvuno@ukzn.ac.za

MCWH QI at scale: DASHBORD in action in the Kwa Zulu Natal Province South Africa

Zamasomi Luvuno 2

The use of innovative technology in community care

Christiana Kouta

christiana.kouta@cut.ac.cy

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_6998.jpg

The nurses' role in preventing suffering and containing health care costs

Christine Hancock

http://www.c3health.org
christine.hancock@c3health.org


Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\Yvonne Chaperon.jpg

Working together for a healthy nursing and midwifery workforce

Yvonne Chaperon
Nurses strike train

yvonne@anf.org.au

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\Documents\CNF\Biennial\2012\Photos Day 1\Andrea.jpg 

Doing things differently: innovation and excellence in nursing practice

Andrea Spyropoulos

andrea.spyropoulos@rcn.org.uk

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\Andreas.jpg 

Unintended consequences of information technology on team work in intensive care

Andreas Xyrichis

andreas.xyrichis@kcl.ac.uk

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\Documents\CNF\Biennial\2012\Photos Day 1\Fiona.jpg

Death anxiety among health professionals
Fional Scalpello Hammett

fiona.busuttil@gov.mt

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7044.jpg

Meeting the health related MDGs: challenges and the way forward

Chika Ugochukwu
chikagugo@yahoo.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\Julia.jpg

Managing careers as a strategy for developing a dynamic workforce

Julia Philippou
julia.philippou@kcl.ac.uk

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7099.jpg

Evaluation of the inter-rater reliability of two falls risk assessment tools in the inpatient setting

Jonathan Zhang Hong En
jonathan.zhang.he@sgh.com.sg

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7032.jpg

The challenge for nurses and midwives of a government free health care initiative

Senesie Margao
smargao2000@yahoo.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7008.jpg

Retrospective clinical chart review on the documentation of core PMTCT activities in Kwa Zulu Natal Province South Africa

Hlolisie Ngidi
ngidiw@ukzn.ac.za

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\Maraka.jpg

Nurses' views on improving midwifery practice in Lesotho

Maraka Monaphathi
monapthathimaraka@yahoo.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7024.jpg

The effects of climate on nursing students' health and wellbeing

Alice Tambe Agbor

aliceayuky@yahoo.com

 

Challenges in nursing education in India

Padmaraj Meera
meeradaniel23@gmail.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_6954.jpg

Death anxiety among health care professionals

Hannah Grima Formosa
hannah-kim.grima-formosa@gov.mt


Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7005.jpg

Innovations for excellence in nursing: the Bahamian experience

Willamae Stuart Hamilton
wstuart@phabahamas.org

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\Documents\CNF\Biennial\2012\Photos Day 1\Eileen 1.jpg

Meeting the educational needs of Kenya's private nurse practitioners

Eileen Richardson

erichard@talktalk.net

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\Documents\CNF\Biennial\2012\Photos Day 1\Thelma.jpg

Developing an integrated non-relational data management system

Thelma Lopez

thelma333@yahoo.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7045.jpg 

Is Vitamin D deficiency in pregnancy still a public health issue?

Trixie McAree

trixie.mcaree@nhs.net

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7168.jpg

Enhancing midwifery capacity to reduce maternal and neonatal mortality in the ECSA region by scaling up midwifery educator training

Joyce Kamdonyo

jkamdonyo@ecsa.or.tz

Strengthening capacity to reduce newborn mortality in the ECSA reigon

Joyce Kamdonyo 2

Introducing eNurse for the management of respiratory symptoms in patients with lung cancer

Andreas Charalambous
andreas.charalambous@cut.ac.cy

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7054.jpg

Meeting the information needs of nurses and midwives in low and middle income countries

Neil Pakenham-Walsh

http://www.hifa2015.org/
neil.pakenham-walsh@ghi-net.org


Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\Marla Salmon March 2012.jpg

Leadership legacy: caring lessons from around the world
Marla Salmon

sschuler@u.washington.edu

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\Documents\CNF\Biennial\2012\Photos Day 1\Catherine 3.jpg

Catherine Clark

The Jubillee Time Capsule

http://www.jubileetimecapsule.org/
catherine.clark@thercs.org


Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7073.jpg 

Me and my net

Siya Kulkarni


Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7123.jpg Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7128.jpg
Oncology nurse training program in Ghana, Uganda and Malawi

Lynne Dodson and Vanita Sharma
lynnedodson@hotmail.com
vanita.sharma@afrox.org

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7011.jpg

Improving the process of retrieval of consumable items during mass casualty events and monthly stock inventory

Lee Lay Eng
lee.lay.eng@sgh.com.sg

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_6999.jpg

Candid voices in the evaluation process of the School of Nursing

Kateca Graham
katecag@yahoo.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\Lesley-Anne.jpg Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\Elisabeth.jpg

The HEAT programme: flexible and scalable training for frontline health workers
Lesley-Anne Long and Elisabeth Clarke
l.a.long@open.ac.uk; e.h.clark@open.ac.uk

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7016.jpg

A nurse managed telephone follow up and home visit programme for patients with high risk of unscheduled readmissions

Nasrifudin Bin Najumudin
nasri_nates@hotmail.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\Pisarai.jpg

Factors contributing to abortions at Chitungwiza Population Service, Zimbabwe Reproductive Health Clinic

Ndarukwa Pisirai
papandarukwa@gmail.co

Student nurses' views on the pregnancy policy implemented by Zimbabwe Ministry of Health
Ndarukwa Pisirai 2

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7187.jpg

Development of nursing regulation in Solomon Islands

Michael Larui
mlarui@moh.gov.sb

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_6979.jpg

An analysis of the factors influencing nurse migration from Mauritius

Dhunraj Foolchand
danfchand@yahoo.co.uk

A study on knowledge of foot care among diabetic patients in Mauritius

Dhunraj Foolchand 2

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\Documents\CNF\Biennial\2012\Photos Day 1\Maura.jpg

Making a difference through health partnerships
Maura Buchanan
maura.buchanan@ntlworld.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7110.jpg

The relationship between nutritional status and chemotherapy induced stress

Geoffrey Axiak
geoffrey.axiak@gov.mt

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7051.jpg

Bridging the information gap for the common good

Paula Procter
p.procter@shu.ac.uk

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7118.jpg

Bransbury Park Young Persons' Drop in Centre, Portsmouth, UK

Sharon Peters
sharon.peters@solent.nhs.uk

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7020.jpg

Improving the time taken to orient patients to the orthopaedic ward environment
Noraini Sahaat
noraini.sahaat@sgh.com.sg

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.Word\IMG_7077.jpg

Knowledge of pregnancy induced hypertension complications and health seeking behaviour among pregnant women
Unice Goshomi
ugoshomi@yahoo.com

Description: C:\Users\JillIliffe\Documents\CNF\Biennial\2012\Photos Day 1\Lalitha.jpg

Palliative care needs of adult cancer patients at a national centre in Sri Lanka
Lalitha Meegoda
meegodal@yahoo.com